History of Sinulog Cebu City
Sinulog Cebu City – “Pit Senyor kang Mama kini, Pit Senyor kang Papa kini..” is the serenade finishing fans' putting forth move of Sinulog out of appreciation for the wonderful Santo Nino.
A pomp of confidence, a celebration held out of appreciation for the Santo Nino, praising the birthplace of the island of Cebu–this is Sinulog.
Sinulog is a move custom out of appreciation for the marvelous picture of the Santo Niã±o. The move propels two stages and one stage in reverse to the sound of the drums. This development looks like the flow (Sulog) of what was known as Cebu's Pahina River. Along these lines, in Cebuano, it's Sinulog.
History specialists say that Sinulog is the connection between the nation's agnostic past and its Christian present.
Authentic records say before Portuguese guide came to Cebu on April 7, 1521 to plant the cross on its shore and claim the nation for the King of Spain, Sinulog was at that point moved by the locals to pay tribute to their wooden icons and anitos.
At that point Magellan came and presented Christianity. He gave the Santo Niã±o (picture of the Child Jesus) as baptismal blessing to Hara Amihan, wife of Cebu's Rajah Humabon who was later named Queen Juana. Around then the rulers were purified through water as well as around 800 of their subjects.
In any case, soon after the transformation, Magellan kicked the bucket in an experience with the dominant leader of Mactan, Rajah Lapu-lapu, on April 27, 1521.What stayed of Magellan's men could come back to Spain to report the incidentt. It took 44 years before another gathering came and began formal Christianization of the islands. Miguel Lopez de Legaspi landed in Cebu on April 28, 1565. His boats shelled the town and in one of the smoldering hovels, one of his officers named Juan Camus found inside a wooden box the picture of the Santo Niã±o lying one next to the other with local symbols.
History specialists now say that amid the 44 years between the happening to Magellan and Legaspi, the locals kept on moving the Sinulog. This time, nonetheless, they moved it no more to love their local icons however as an indication of veneration to the Santo Niã±o which is presently revered at the San Agustin Church (renamed Basilica Minore del Santo NiÃ±o)
During that time subsequent to 1521, the move was a little custom by a couple before wooden symbols or before the Santo Niã±o. Indeed, at the Santo Niã±o church where the picture is sanctified, just the light merchants could be seen moving the Sinulog and making offerings.
Sign up to GET Regular Tips & Updates - enter your email below
Amid the Santo Niã±o holiday, which falls on the third Sunday of January, kids wearing moro-moro ensembles likewise move the Sinulog. This was truly no enormous occasion for Cebu City.
In 1980, be that as it may, David S. Odilao, Jr., then Regional Director of the Ministry of Sports and Youth Development (MYSD), sorted out the principal ever Sinulog parade. He assembled a gathering of understudies, dressed them up, taught them how to move the Sinulog to the thumping of the drums. It was a little parade truly which went just around the Basilica, however it got the creative energy of the City of Cebu, which then considered making the Sinulog a celebration that would match every single other celebration being held yearly in the nation.
Subsequently, under the course of then Cebu City Mayor Florentino S. Solon, the Sinulog association appeared. The main assignment of the arranging board was the means by which to conceptualize the celebration and make it a major occasion.
Posted by Philippinestravelsite
Find Out More…
Feel free to donate….